From Ashes
by: Molly McAdams

Picture
When Cassidy Jameson's best friend Tyler took her to Texas with him when he left for college, she was expecting his cousin, their new roommate, to be a Stetson-wearing cowboy since his family owned a ranch; not this incredibly gorgeous guy with a husky Southern drawl that seemed to make the world stop whenever she looked at him. Because of her past, she's only ever trusted two men in her life, Tyler and her dad whom passed away when she was six. But there's something about Gage that draws her to him in a way she can't explain, only problem? He's always telling Tyler that he doesn't want Cassidy living there and sees her as nothing more than his little sister.

Gage Carson was excited his cousin Tyler was coming to live with, and go to college with him. When he'd called to ask if he could bring his friend Cassi with him, Gage didn't care. Gage had heard about this mysterious friend since they were kids and felt like he already knew her. Nothing would prepare him for watching her jump out of Ty's Jeep though. Not only was Cassi the most beautiful girl he'd ever seen, but there was something about her that within seconds of meeting her, made Gage want to protect her, and make her his. Too bad Tyler made it a point to remind Gage on a daily basis that he was dating her and she was completely off limits.

For a year and a half, Gage and Cassidy dance around their feelings for each other as Tyler continues to keep them apart; until one day Tyler unknowingly pushes her right into Gage's arms. With Tyler unable to keep lying to them, they finally start a relationship both have been craving since their first meeting. But when an accident and disaster sends her back to Tyler and California, will Cassidy be able to come face to face with the demons from her past to live a life she and Gage deserve; or will the fact that she once again ran to Tyler be the final push that ends Cassidy and Gage for good?


I am a little over half way through this book and so far I love it! Wow... Gage! OMG - I love you! Tyler - I really don't like you at all. Cassi - You aren't too bad, but let's face it, you aren't Gage!

Molly McAdam's book's are a little long-winded but usually worth it. This is the same author that wrote, 'Taking Chances'. I feel like I read, read and read some more and can't even make a dent in this book. I'm just ready for it to all go down. Gage and Cassi are too happy for it to last much longer. The description tells you that much, but I'm still not ready for Cassi to break Gage's heart and run back to that asshole Tyler.

I am excited to see how it ends and hopefully I can get it done tomorrow night. I've actually been busy at work, shhh don't tell any one, they might try and make it a regular occurrence. I will be sure to post a new blog letting you know what I think of the completed book so hold tight!

4 little bookworms

Ten Tiny Breaths
By: K.A. Tucker

Picture
Kacey Cleary’s whole life imploded four years ago in a drunk-driving accident. Now she’s working hard to bury the pieces left behind—all but one. Her little sister, Livie. Kacey can swallow the constant disapproval from her born-again aunt Darla over her self-destructive lifestyle; she can stop herself from going kick-boxer crazy on Uncle Raymond when he loses the girls’ college funds at a blackjack table. She just needs to keep it together until Livie is no longer a minor, and then they can get the hell out of Grand Rapids, Michigan.
But when Uncle Raymond slides into bed next to Livie one night, Kacey decides it’s time to run. Armed with two bus tickets and dreams of living near the coast, Kacey and Livie start their new lives in a Miami apartment complex, complete with a grumpy landlord, a pervert upstairs, and a neighbor with a stage name perfectly matched to her chosen “profession.” But Kacey’s not worried. She can handle all of them. What she can’t handle is Trent Emerson in apartment 1D.
Kacey doesn’t want to feel. She doesn’t. It’s safer that way. For everyone. But sexy Trent finds a way into her numb heart, reigniting her ability to love again. She starts to believe that maybe she can leave the past where it belongs and start over. Maybe she’s not beyond repair.
But Kacey isn’t the only one who’s broken. Seemingly perfect Trent has an unforgiveable past of his own; one that, when discovered, will shatter Kacey’s newly constructed life and send her back into suffocating darkness.

Okay... so this book was pretty amazing. But once again, I would really like to take out that little part of my brain that thinks too much. I had this book figured out before she even started foreshadowing it. Why can't I use this crazy, wicked brain power for something good instead of evil? I'd really like to enjoy the shock of a book for once.

Regardless, this book was pretty kick ass! Kacey is so funny! If you don't laugh reading this then there is probably something seriously wrong with you. This author is amazing! I have already went on amazon and got a different series of hers to start on.

You will enjoy this book because it's deep without being too deep. It touches on some pretty intense topics but isn't written around those 100%. It's hard to explain but you will totally understand if you decide to read it. I'd highly recommend this book and I promise you won't be let down.


Every single character will steal your heart after meeting them. Only a talented writer like this can mix a run-a-way PTSD survivor, a teenager way past her years, a not so dumb blonde haired, big boobed stripper, an adorable little kid, a police officer, and a hot neighbor all into one book and get away with it. It is super funny from the first few pages until the end. You will love to hate the Kacey and Trent at times but are so happy when they finally get their shit together.

The next 3 books are all rated 3 Little Bookworms.

3 little bookworms

Bad Rep
By: A. Meredith Walters

Picture
"Who gives a damn about their reputation? Oh, that would be me! Especially since mine had gone straight to hell in the span of thirty minutes."

Maysie Ardin is soaking up the summer before her junior year of college, shopping, hanging by the pool and shopping some more. But when her black belt in spending lands her in trouble with her parents, she is forced to take a second job at a local bar to dig herself out of a deep financial pit.

She thought she’d be miserable. But then Maysie didn’t count on Jordan Levitt, the hot, pierced and tattooed, drum playing bartender who also happens to be very interested in her. And the feelings are totally mutual.

It had the makings of the perfect romantic set up. Boy meets girl. Boy likes girl. Boy has girlfriend? Okay, maybe not.

But attraction is a hard thing to ignore and soon Jordan and Maysie find themselves in the middle of a gossip induced firestorm. Maysie has to learn whether she can set aside her fear of public disapproval in order to be with the one she wants. Or will she let the opinions of others dictate her life and her heart?

I really wanted to like this book more but I just couldn't. It started out so good then just went downhill from there. I loved Maysie at first then she turned into a little drama queen! And I don't do drama queens! I will however say differently for Jordon. He is the one thing that stayed good throughout this book. Oh and her roommate too! I really liked that girl!

I felt myself skipping parts just to get to the end and that's never a good sign. It had such potential but somewhere it just want all wonky. The writing was good, the plot was good, the characters were even believable. I don't know why but I just couldn't love this book.

I wouldn't say don't read it because it was entertaining, it just wasn't as good as I thought it could be. I felt let down to be honest. Maysie went from total kickass to complete whinny bitch overnight. Her character is probably the main reason I couldn't fully enjoy this book.

Let's just call it a draw on this one. It wasn't good, it wasn't bad, it wasn't much of anything except a decent read. If you've read it and feel differently let me know because I would love to be proven wrong on this one.

Shattered
by: Elizabeth Lee

Picture
Alyssa Boyd had big plans. Big plans that included getting the hell out of the little town she’d grown up in with her two best friends. When she decided it was time to let one of them know her true feelings for him; a change of plans resulted in a tragic turn of events. Now, Alyssa is left alone to find her way out of the darkness that an untimely death has left in its wake.

Jesse Vaughn was never good at letting people in. He’d learned a long time ago that it’s easier that way because people leave, or, unfortunately, die. The one person he wanted to let in doesn’t want him anymore. The only problem is he can’t stop thinking about her. Jesse returns to the childhood home he left behind with one goal in mind… to convince her that they should be together.

When Jesse finds Alyssa she’s not the same girl he left behind. She’s wild, reckless and hell-bent on not giving Jesse a second chance. Lucky for Jesse, his stubborn streak has always been a mile-wide and he’s not about to give up on her.

When your life has been shattered can you really pick up all the pieces and move on?

Mature YA/New Adult Recommended for readers 17+

Here is another one that I wanted to love but just couldn't. It's pretty depressing from start to finish. I mean, the entire book does revolve around two friend's best friend dying, so yeah, it's pretty sad. Jesse & Alyssa are great characters but they are kind of annoying at the same time. They are both too stubborn for their own good.

My favorite character is the one who is dead actually. Their best friend died and is brought back via flashback memories so you get a good sense of who he is. You almost read it wishing that he didn't die in that car accident because the book could have been so much better with him in it more.

I guess my biggest issue is with Alyssa because she is just pathetic from the get-go. I've never lost anyone that close to me so I can't say how I'd cope with a loss that great but you really want to punch Alyssa sometimes. She just keeps dragging her feet pretending like it will all just go away magically.

Another book with so much potential that I personally feel just fell flat. It's not a horrible book and I'd totally tell someone to read it but it just wasn't the book for me. I need my female characters to have a little more spunk than this one does. I also need for the characters to take chance more. It's really frustrating when you read a book and just want to reach into the pages and shake the sense into the characters. That's how I felt most of this book. I just wanted to grab a hold of them and force something interesting to happen already.

If you are interested in it and want to know more details just ask me. It really is a well written book that might be wonderful for someone, just not for me. I would read another book by the author in a heartbeat. I just don't think this subject matter was the right one for me to invest in.

Accidentally on Purpose
by: L..D. Davis

Picture
Emmy thinks her boss Kyle Sterling of Sterling Corporations is a dick.
So, she sleeps with him.

Emmy tries to put the mistake behind her, but then finds herself snowed in with Kyle. As the snow builds, so does the heat in the house between the two. The problem is that Kyle has a steady girlfriend that he is unwilling to break up with. Emmy cuts Kyle off and starts dating Luke. Even as their relationship takes off, Emmy is finding Kyle hard to shake. He is blatant in his feelings and desires for Emmy, putting her in an awkward situation. She tries hard to resist Kyle, but deep down inside Emmy's motives are shady. When Emmy succumbs to her hidden feelings for Kyle without setting Luke free, devastating consequences ensue.

In addition to her two men, Emmy daydreams about doing violent things to her loud mouthed, opinionated mother.

With drama, romance, some humor, and plenty of alcohol, follow Emmy as she deals with the consequences of "accidentally on purpose" falling for two men at once.

And once again, as if I'm a broken record, this one just wasn't as good as it could have been. Because it started off amazing! Better than amazing... it started off incredible. It was probably one of the funnest books I'd read in a while. It keep me entertained until about 75% through the book. At that point, it just kind of flopped.

Gotta admit though, my quick thinking little brain didn't see it coming as too why her boss was acting the way he was. It almost felt forced when that was revealed. Totally out of left field on that little piece of information. It was almost as if it was an after thought to help validate some crazy ass behavior.

Then the poor "other guy" was entirely too good for Emmy from the get-go. Why he even kept her around for as long as he did I will not understand. Then towards the end when things get interesting it's like a second person swooped it to write the ending. I just remember reading a chapter thinking WTF just happened. Then it just got stranger. Then after all of that it started to swing back around to normal-town. A little too late I might add. By that time I just wanted the book to be over with because I was sad about it's drastic plummet towards crappy-town book USA.

Another book that was just frustrating! You completely fall in love with Emmy from the first page and feel horribly let down towards the middle-end of the book. I still don't understand what happened to be honest with you. Like I said, someone else started writing parts into the book and just took over at the worst possible times. I wanted to pull my own hair out reading the end. It just kept going and going and taking me no where!

I was probably the most disappointed in this book because it started out so freaking good! I laughed so hard reading it at first. You will see, it just makes you giggle because it's so blunt and frank. Then out of nowhere it just changes into something else. I truly believe this book was abducted by aliens and probed within an inch of its life before crashing back down to Earth. Then you are left with a book that rambles on and on about aliens kidnapping it and how they are really out there and they are coming back for it. Seriously, it was that for fetched at times.

Okay, maybe that's just me being dramatic. I just wanted this book to be so much different than it was. I can deal with annoying little slutty brats who cheat and are torn between Mr. Right and Mr. Wrong. I just can't deal with a book that makes you want to slam the characters head into the ground in order to try and wake her back up.

Please if you read this and thought the same thing, please let me know, because I don't like feeling this crazy. And once again, it was a great book just not for me. So please don't let these reviews turn you off from taking a chance on them because they are all very talented authors and works of art. 

Falling Update

Since you were all such good little blogger readers I figured I'd treat you to some Falling updates! Sneaky, I know! How else am I suppose to see if you are really checking out my page or just pretending like you are? Hmm... :)

Well, let's start off by saying that I finally decided on a new editor. Her name is Tracy and so far she is great, but then again, we are just starting the editing process. I really feel like she is a good fit though. I tested out several different editors and compared their test edits of my first chapter. From four people I narrowed it down to two. Out of those two I just knew Tracy was the one for me deep down in my gut.

Some of her reviews made me really question my work. I liked that I didn't feel judged, wrong, or right by her comments. It just felt good to read her thoughts and question my own through process because of it. I really hope that this editor works out because I don't think I can rewrite Falling one more time. That last editor was going to be the death of me and my book. So after taking several very long months off, I am happy to be back on the horse again (pun intended!)

I have fallen back in love with my characters Rosalee and Harlan. I have enjoyed finishing up the book compared to my last rewrite. I still have about 10% left to finish writing but I am almost done. The ending was giving me some trouble but after a few days of avoiding my book the ending just came to me. Yep, I'm a whole lot crazy like that! So now that I have my little hamster wheel a turning, I hope to have this book published by my birthday in mid-February.

That is going to be my present to myself. I want this book to be completed and amazon ready by then! I know that I am on the right track this time around. I just feels right. Plus, I am super excited for everyone to finally read it.

Also, I just wanted to give a huge shout out to MANDY @ http://twimom101bookblog.blogspot.com/. She mentioned me in a blog of hers and I almost fell down in tears! Yep, she is just that amazing! She listed me as one of her top-can't-wait-to-read books of 2013! ME! Little ol' me! WOW... can you say amazing! Thank you so much Mandy and I can't wait for you to read it and write an amazing review about it! You are just way too awesome for words! *check it out here*



Leave a Reply.