let's start off on a high note and go down hill from there... hope this helps you decide on your next book.

'edge of never' by J.A. redmerski

Picture
Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett had always been one to think out-of-the-box, who knew she wanted something more in life than following the same repetitive patterns and growing old with the same repetitive life story. And she thought that her life was going in the right direction until everything fell apart.

Determined not to dwell on the negative and push forward, Camryn is set to move in with her best friend and plans to start a new job. But after an unexpected night at the hottest club in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina, she makes the ultimate decision to leave the only life she's ever known, far behind.

With a purse, a cell phone and a small bag with a few necessities, Camryn, with absolutely no direction or purpose boards a Greyhound bus alone and sets out to find herself. What she finds is a guy named Andrew Parrish, someone not so very different from her and who harbors his own dark secrets. But Camryn swore never to let down her walls again. And she vowed never to fall in love.

But with Andrew, Camryn finds herself doing a lot of things she never thought she'd do. He shows her what it's really like to live out-of-the-box and to give in to her deepest, darkest desires. On their sporadic road-trip he becomes the center of her exciting and daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But will Andrew's dark secret push them inseparably together, or tear them completely apart?(Due to sexual content and language, this book is recommended for 17+ - Adult Contemporary Women's - New Adult Fiction)

5 little bookworms!!!!!

Let's start of by saying that I saw this book on, of course, the top 100 free kindle best sellers list. I got it a while back when it started jumping up on the list. Looked okay from the description, nothing to die for, or so I thought. The main reason I did get this book was because of it's high rating. I don't know what it is know, but at the time it had a bunch of reviews and it was 5 stars. That's like unheard of to have that many reviews and them all be 5 stars. So, I took a chance yesterday when I saw that it moved over to the top 100 kindle best sellers list (paid version) and decided I needed to find out what was so amazing about this book. Thank goodness that I did because wow! just wow! it was that good. It was beyond good! I still can't get over how good it was to be honest with you.

I have been on another one of those long, endless strings of bad books and felt like giving up for a while. Thankfully, I joined the bandwagon and got to reading this one. I has jump started my back into 'I must read ever waking moment' trend and I love it for that. Sometimes you just get a bad batch of books, I'll get to those next, but it only takes one to change it all around.

Reason #1  - this book is mature young adult (thank you sex scenes!)
Reason #2 - a strong female lead (granted she is down but she certainly isn't out or whinny!)
Reason #3 - ANDREW PARRISH! *swoon worthy*
Reason #4 - No Drama! No Love Triangle! No annoyingly unrealistic fantasy boys fighting over an over the top little spoiled princess who doesnt deserve two amazing hotties fighting over her. Fiction or not, I need realistic!
Reason #5 - The last few chapters you will cry. You will cry so hard that you can't even see the sentences any longer because your tears are getting in the way. You will cry so much that you have to stop and wipe them away because they are falling at a pace that is dramatic for being too emotional invested in a book and their characters. You will check the page number/percentage of how much is left at least 30 times in the last few chapters because you are so sad that you can't possible have the book end by ripping your heart out like this. You will curse the author for daring to bring you down this emotional road and scare you to death thinking the ending is going to kill you because there isn't possibly enough book left to fix this tear-jerking ending.


NOW GO GET IT AND READ IT AND TELL ME IF YOU FEEL THE SAME WAY!!! I PROMISE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

'the dark secrets series' by a.m. hudson

4 little bookworms

Vampires do not care about the myths people believe. They feed on humans, walk in the daylight, and no, they certainly do not sparkle. The only problem is, they don't usually fall in love with their food, either. But David Knight is about to discover that love knows nothing of morals or laws.

When Ara-Rose learns the truth about her boyfriend, David, she will be forced into a world of death and secrecy. Living each day on a path lit by predictability, Ara had never imagined such nightmares could exist. Now, her fate is measured by a choice between eternal love and a normal life, a decision she only has until the end of the summer to make.


*There will be 5-6 books in this series.

* The book is delivered in Australian English

3 little bookworms

Book II in the Dark Secrets series.

"Deeply integrated series. You need to read Tears of the Broken before reading this one."

Love was only the beginning of her nightmares.

When Ara discovered the existence of vampires, she was given the choice between a life as one of them, or a life without her true love.

But fate has a funny way of making choices for you.

After breaking the heart of the boy she loves with a truth he cannot bear, Ara will find herself in the arms of a predator who will steal her innocence and force the hand of fate.

Will David Knight become her rescuer once again, or will he be too late?

couldn't finish

Death never leaves us. Once it's touched our souls, it hungers for our return--waiting for us to fall. And if it finds Ara again, she will have no way to escape.

Moving on from David was hard, forgetting the abduction and torture was almost impossible, but nothing as devastating as the thought that now, because of her, David might face the horrific punishments of the Set.

No one knows where David went after he lost Ara, but she can only hope he's the one leaving subtle clues for her to discover, and it makes her desperate to find him--desperate enough that she would risk her life, hanging out with an informant who means to kill her. What truths she is told about David's dark past, though, will threaten to change her heart and destroy the way Ara perceives everything. She must ask herself if it's right to love one monster, then hate the one who tried to destroy her.

In all her searching, the promise of immortality will finally be renewed, but sold at a price Ara's not sure she's willing to pay.

Is love enough to make her submit to this new role, or will it fail her once again and leave her reaching back for the grasp of death?
Let's start with book #1 then move to #2 & #3...

Book #1 - The Australian writing style was different. If you read it you will understand what I am talking about. Just certain things they say are so different from how we would say it. Sometimes it cute then other times it's really annoying. It's one thing to have an Aussie say something Australian but it's another to have the American say something Aussie.

Okay... so this first book really got me hooked! I love me some vampires and really, who doesn't love the love triangle thing? Granted, it can be annoying at times but you know you go crazy wondering who they will end up with. Keeps ya on your toes :D So this book did just that. The girl is rather irritating but she has her reasons so I let it slide.

Book #2 - Bought it because book #1 left me dying to know who she was going to pick and what she was going to do. Hmmm... that's all I will say for those of you that do intend to read this on. Let's just say that at some point you need to pick one and stick with it. Because really, what guy is going to put up with your annoying crap, not get sex in return, and have to fight for you. Seriously? Only in a book could that ever happen. By the end of this one I was sick and tired of her 'poor poor pitiful little me' routine. I can only take so much of that crap before I want to slap the character myself.

Book #3 - I didn't get far. I couldn't make myself because I was basically rereading books 1 & 2 over and over again. Nothing new happens. Nothing exciting happens. It's still the same annoying little brat crying over everything that's so horrible in her life while stringing along two guys who are obviously brain dead. Needless to say, I put this book down and moved on to bigger and better things. My life is boring, dull, and I like whine over my own overly dramatic little not-so-exciting life. I can't deal with your crap along with it. I read to escape the my normal life and you are just making me depressed more. Time to just cut my losses and remember you for the first book and try to forget the rest.


'Endlessly' by c.v. hunt

Picture
When Ashley walks into a shop run by the vampire, Verloren, they both get the surprise of their lives. Ash is about to learn that she’s not just another pretty young woman, while Verloren is astonished to find himself falling in love. But how can a vampire love a human? And what if the human isn’t as human as she seems? When Ash’s true nature reveals itself, the entire power structure of the world’s outsiders teeters on the brink of destruction. Verloren and Ash become more and more terrified as they grope their way toward the ultimate truth: that they hold the key to something much larger than their own survival.

no little bookworm rating bc i just couldn't finish it

This has been on my kindle forever and I finally decided to give it a whirl. Well, I didn't get very far before getting really board. I wanted to like it but it was not the book for me.

Reason #1 - Vampires! I love vampires and I selfishly love them a certain way. I do not like my vampires to be some gothic freak with pale skin (albino) that sports green & black hair. If you aren't a hot vampire (by my ridiculously high standards) then I just can't be invested in your story.

Reason #2 - When you are a girl living in the middle of no where and you discover someone lurking around in your backyard, you do not invite them in (especially if they look like said vampire ^^) after only meeting them earlier that day/week or whatever. This is when I want to stop the book and rewrite the scene to make her run up the stairs wearing a see-through & no bra (classic, i know right?) top bouncing like a giddy little school girl when the guy with the axe is slowly tailing you with every intent on slicing you into pieces. Why you might ask??? One: I'm just morbid like that :D Two: You are seriously a dumb bitch that needs to be killed before you can reproduce more idiot offspring like yourself. Hence why I stopped reading the book and decided to move on because it wasn't going to get any better.

'jenny pox' by jl bryan

Picture
Eighteen-year-old Jenny Morton has a horrific secret: her touch spreads a deadly supernatural plague, the "Jenny pox." She lives by a single rule: Never touch anyone. A lifetime of avoiding any physical contact with others has made her isolated and painfully lonely in her small rural town.

Then she meets the one boy she can touch. Jenny feels herself falling for Seth...but if she's going to be with him, Jenny must learn to use the deadly pox inside her to confront his ruthless and manipulative girlfriend Ashleigh, who secretly wields the most dangerous power of all.

no little bookworm rating bc i couldn't finish this one either

Here we go again... I did get like 80% through this one before I gave up. It started out good. It got weird. Then it got really, really weird. Then it just took a crazy ass left turn straight to crazyville! And I happen to enjoy the random little visits to crazyville but this one like the bad part of town crazyville that you don't venture into alone, in the dark without being a drug dealer, hooker, or just in general being a complete freak with a death wish. There I said it... this book was ten times crazy the level of weird that I am into.

Reason #1 - The girl needs to eat! The book makes her sound like a half-starved little bag of bones!
Reason #2 - Popular guys who are jerks don't randomly turn into swoon-worthy lovers over night especially if you are a sack of bones.
Reason #3 - The extensive pot use early on in the book should have hinted towards something that I just wasn't even prepared for but stumbled into and feel like a complete idiot for not seeing all the warning signs leading up to it.
Reason #4 - Any book that has extensive drug use, random and creepy sex scenes, and holy-rollers should be listed with a warning label for gullible people like me.
Reason #5 - Teenagers with the insight to take over the world because this town has obviously been drinking contaminated water and every time I turn a page someone new has a super power. Hmm... did I mention creepy teens trying to use religion and sex to overtake the population?

If theses few reasons don't scare you then please, by all means, read this book and tell me that I was wrong. I can't be the best judge since I didn't finish it but I read enough to know that I wasted too much of my time on it. Creepy!

'my secret life: the complete series' by tanya korval

Picture
This is all four parts of the 'My Secret Life' series. They are also available separately, but you save one third off the price by buying them together. It's cheaper to buy this collected edition even if you've already bought part one.
85,000 words.
On the outside, Erica has it all: looks, a steady income, a high-powered job that sends her around the world. But on the inside, a life spent in hotels, meetings and executive airport lounges is slowly leaving her numb, isolated from everyone around her. On a business trip to New York, she finds herself rapidly spinning out of control, seeking not romance but something raw and forbidden. When an innocent mistake gives her the chance to be a prostitute for the night, she jumps at the chance: and nothing will ever be the same again.

Erica enters into a world of limos, mansions and private jets, partying in LA and shopping for designer clothes. But as her adventures continue, can she find a way to balance her adventures with work, life... even love? Or are her two lives destined to collide... with disastrous consequences.

Here's an extract from part one (remember you're getting all four parts). The extract and the stories themselves are for adults only.

The water shut off in the bathroom. The swish of a towel as he dried himself. He was in a hurry: he wanted me.

The bathroom door opened and he emerged, hair damp, a towel around his waist. I was right about the body: his chest was still nicely defined, his stomach firm. A three times a week in the gym man. As he walked towards me, I noticed there was a full-length mirror behind him. I watched myself as I stepped forwards to meet him, looking into my own eyes. I'm 5'6 without the heels, most of that in my legs. Many years ago, I used to dance, thighs flexing and stretching as I moved through arabesques and pirouettes. I was never suited to it: my hips too full, my breasts too big. But I got to keep those long, elegant legs.

'Did you wear them?' the smile as much in his voice as on his face.
I lowered my eyes demurely and place one foot slightly in front of the other, one hand flat against each hip. Then I slowly slid the green dress up, over black silk stocking that glistened over every curve of the smooth, pale flesh beneath. The thick black glossy band of the stocking top rose into view, the metal suspender clips shining and glinting. The dark elastic of the straps sliced down each creamy-white thigh, emphasising their paleness. I stopped there. His eyes were locked on my legs. I had him. When he finally glanced upwards, I gathered my hair in one hand, exposing my neck.

'Could you...?' I asked, with a hint of shyness, and then turned my back to him so that he could see the offered zip. He stepped forward: close enough that I could feel the heat coming off his body. The zip inched down, the rasp of it the only sound in the room. The dress loosened, the zip finishing at the small of my back. A sharp intake of breath, and I knew he'd just glanced down at the backs of my legs and seen the seam running vertically up each leg. Men are nothing if not predictable.

I released my hair and gently stepped away, the hair sweeping down my back as the dress slid from my body. I stepped out of it and stood with my back to him for a second, relishing the moment. He could see the strap of my bra, the back of my suspender belt. My naked bum: he knew I wasn't wearing any knickers. The stockings and heels stayed on, and would do for the evening unless he asked me to remove them. He wouldn't.

There was a black leather armchair in front of me. Very slowly, I turned around, the low light of the room making the naked skin above the stockings gleam, milky-white smoothness against glossy black silk. And between my thighs, framed by the black of the suspender belt, was a neatly-trimmed strip of bright auburn hair. The proof, if you will, that I'm a genuine redhead.

once again... couldn't finish it

I think I got the first novella free on amazon. It was enjoyable so I was suckered into buying the complete set. It said it would save me money so of course I wasted like $8 on this crap only to find out that I got screwed out of $8 that could have bought me a coffee at Starbucks. The girl is just a freak! Plain and simple! But she isn't the type of freak I want to read 85,000 words about. Maybe the short little novella, but after that it was just wasteful. I know I sound harsh, but I am just being honest with you. Please feel free to check this one out and prove me wrong. Strange. Let's just leave it at that... strange!
bruno
1/21/2014 02:51:35 pm

Hi My name is Bruno Rico' just want to share my experience with the world on how i got my love back and saved my marriage... I was married for 7years with 2kids and we lived happily until things started getting ugly and we had fights and arguments almost every time... it got worse at a point that she filed for divorce... I tried my best to make her change her mind & stay with me cause i loved her with all my heart and didn't want to loose her but everything just didn't work out... she moved out of the house and still went ahead to file for divorce... I pleaded and tried everything but still nothing worked. The breakthrough came when someone introduced me to this wonderful, great spell caster who eventually helped me out... I have never been a fan of things like this but just decided to try reluctantly cause I was desperate and left with no choice... He did special prayers and used roots and herbs... Within 7 days she called me and was sorry for all the emotional trauma she had cost me, moved back to the house and we continue to live happily, the kids are happy too and we are expecting our third child. I have introduced him to a lot of couples with problems across the world and they have had good news... Just thought I should share my experience cause I strongly believe someone out there need's it... You can email him via [email protected] Don't give up just yet, the different between 'Ordinary' & 'Extra-Ordinary' is the 'Extra' so make extra effort to save your marriage/relationship if it's truly worth it. you can also call (Dr Eromosale) on +2347034673139.

Reply



Leave a Reply.