I've been a busy little bee these past few days. I think I've read a book a day for the last week. I've been neglecting my own book but I just need space from it right now. There are so many decisions I am trying to make and haven't felt 100% committed just yet. Soon... Soon, I promise! Anyways. I've got some great books to tell you about that will not disappoint you! The three that I am going to review today were all 5 star reviews! It's been a while that I've been so shocked to read one great book after another. Maybe that's why I can't focus - I'm in a good book zone and can't break away from the happiness of it all. So go read these books and let me know what you think!

{don't forget to click the pictures to go straight to amazon kindle to buy them!}

5 little bookworm Books!


Book review #1

Picture
Spirits in the Trees
by Morgan Hannah MacDonald

As I've posted in a previous book blog, Morgan Hannah MacDonald is amazing! Her book Sandman will keep you on your toes and this new book is no exception! She has done it again! Her books actually make you feel the goosebumps creep up your arm and the hairs stand on the back of your neck. Yep... she's that good and scaring you! A scary plot, powerful leading lady, and a sexy come-to-the-rescue hunky male costar : )

This book will leave you haunted to your core and make you keep the nightlight on long after the book is over with. Trust me when I tell you that she is by far my favorite serial killer writer out there. She gets in their minds and creates an evil person that makes your skin crawl. She isn't afraid to push the boundaries and test your limits. This book isn't for the faint of heart and surely isn't for ever reader. It takes a gutsy person to read her riding but if you have it in you, you won't be disappointed.

This is the first book of a trilogy and I can't wait for the next two! She is probably one of my favorite authors of all times and definitely my favorite thriller based writer. If you haven't heard of her then you are missing out on an amazing story teller. 


book review #2 & #3

Picture
Callum & Harper
by Fisher Amelie

Wow... how have I not been known about this amazing writer before now? I feel cheated... some of my book friends have obviously been holding out of me : )

Callum & Harper are such a cute couple! So adorable and you can't help but fall in love with them both. Their little romance will leave you so frustrated and annoyed but in a good way. Towards the end I cried. I don't mean, one lonely tear, I mean sobbing that made my vision blurry and prevented me from reading the book until I pulled myself together kind of cry. Later that afternoon my husband grabbed my hand and was like whats that? Embarrassed, I responded with "left over mascara from crying earlier and wiping it off." Oh yeah, I got the crazy husband glare that said 'I'll never understand you & your fantasy characters'. Should of known to hide the evidence of my pathetic little tear fest but nope, I was caught red-handed with my fingers in the cookie jar and crumbles stuck to my chin. Whatever, Callum & Harper was so worth it! I feel in love with this story, these characters, and this author! 

Picture
Thomas & January
by Fisher Amelie

After finishing Callum & Harper I immediately went to Amazon to buy Thomas & January. It was a spin off book and I almost think it was better than the original. As much as I loved Callum & Harper... I have to be honest, I really, really, head-over-heels feel in love with Thomas & January. No tears this go around but that's okay because I was too busy being happy.

This book was a little more mature and a tab more believable to be honest. I found myself getting lost in their love story because it wasn't as complicated as Callum & Harper's story. To be fair, it would be like comparing apples and oranges. The two books stand alone and are both equally unique plots. I can't wait for the next one to come out! These books made me feel like I did when I read Scars & Beautiful Disaster. Well, Callum & Harper gave a more intense, emotional roller coaster of a literary ride but the overall theme of Thomas & January was similar. They were just such different story lines and they left me feeling a change within myself. Just wonderful books that give a refreshing breathe of fresh air from my usual paranormal romance books. 


4 little bookworm books


Picture
Devour
by Shelly Crane

This was a very interesting take on the paranormal romance world I usual stick too. I went into not really knowing what it was about. I feel in love with Eli right off the bat and couldn't wait to find out what type of supernatural he was. I was pleasantly surprised and impressed by the unique story of Devour. I've always heard a lot about Shelly Crane but never got around to reading one of her books. I was happy that I moved this series up to the top of my to-read list. The characters were interesting and had deep stories from their past to intertwine with their present, complicated situation. Very well written and entertaining series that will keep you interested from the first to last page.

Both Devour & the follow-up book, Consume, were great stories with a different twist to the paranormal typical breeds of supernaturals. I have both books 4 out of 5 stars and would recommend Shelly Crane's books to friends as well as read other series that she has out. If you decide to read them please let me know what you think of them.




Leave a Reply.